BBQ Pork Belly Ribs

My mom would always cook meat with soy sauce and sugar. In Chinese, we call it “红烧”. I wanted to try something different this time. So I decided to use the Kraft original BBQ sauce to braise the pork belly ribs. It turned out better than I expected. At first, I was afraid the ribs would turn out a bit sour or not to have enough flavoring, but it really did taste like BBQ ribs that you would buy at the local grocery store. I paired the ribs with carrots and onions as I thought they would go well with the BBQ sauce. This dish really goes well with rice, and you can easily bring it to lunch at work or school. I hope you will enjoy making it.

Ingredients:

  1. 4 Pork belly ribs
  2. 2 medium carrots (diced)
  3. 2 medium onions (diced)
  4. 5-6 tbsp Kraft original BBQ sauce
  5. 2 cups of water
  6. 1 tbsp of sugar ( I used sugar cane sugar, but regular sugar also works)
  7. Cooking oil
  8. Salt
  9. Chicken stock

Combining the Ingredients:

  1. Blanch the pork belly ribs in a bowl of boiling water (wither ginger and scallions-optional) to remove impurities. Dry the pork with paper towels before moving onto the next steps.
  2. While blanching the ribs, start cooking the onions and carrots over medium heat. Add salt to taste and some chicken stock. Take them out of the wok once they have softened a bit.
  3. Over medium heat, add oil and then cook the blanched ribs until lightly browned.
  4. Add in the BBQ sauce, water, sugar and some chicken stock* (chicken stock is option, I like to add it for additonal flavoring). Bring the sauce to boil before covering and simmering the ribs until tender (~2hr). I usually need to continously add more water. Everytime I add water, I add a bit more BBQ sauce and sugar. You can adjust how much BBQ sauce and sugar to add based on your preference. If you want a bit more sweetened, I would add more sugar.
  5. When there is about 30min left of cooking, I add the carrots and onions back with the ribs.
  6. Once the ribs are tender, turn up the heat to reduce the remaining sauce.
  7. It is now ready to be served!

Leave a Reply

