Baked TonKatsu

Last week, I went out with my friend to Crazy Don near Sheppard and Yonge. My friend tried the curry chicken TonKatsu, and I tried the fish TonKatsu. Both were pretty good and so I wanted to make it myself at home. I looked at several recipes online and on youtube. The steps to make this dish were straight forward and it turns out to be quite easy. There were several ways of making this dish, you can fry it or bake it. I chose to bake mine as it is healthier and I wouldn’t need to use up too much oil.

Based on research, to get the right amount of crispiness, it is important to pre-cook the panko before breading the pork. This will also help to prevent overcooking the pork. It is also important to select thinly sliced pork loin to ensure it can be cooked evenly through.

To accompany the tonkatsu, I decided to cook julienned cucumber and carrots (as that was left over from a previous dish I made). They turned out to be a great combination to tonkatsu. For the cucumber and carrots, I stir-fried them together used cooking oil, chicken stock and salt. Traditionally, tonkatsu is served with shredded cabbage as it balances out the greasiness of the pork. However, I find it goes well with other vegetables too (so be creative).

Ingredients:

  1. 6 pieces of pork loin (I usually get a package of pork loin from T&T, I like to choose thin and smaller pieces with no fat)
  2. 2 cups of panko (depending on how much pork you use)
  3. salt and fresh ground pepper
  4. all purpose flour
  5. 2 beaten eggs
  6. cooking oil
  7. Tonkatsu sauce– homemade (see below)

Combining the Ingredients:

  1. pre-heat the oven to 400F.
  2. cook the panko in a pan, over medium heat, with oil until it turns golden brown. Set the panko aside in a plastic container to cool.
  3. pound the pork with the back side of a cutting knife to tenderise it, and then mold the pork back to its original shape.
  4. sprinkle salt and pepper onto both sides of the pork
  5. dredge each pork completely with flour, and then dip in egg before coating it with the toasted panko. Make sure the panko is well adhered to the pork.
  6. Place the coated pork onto a baking sheet and then bake at 400F for 20min until the pork is thoroughly cooked.
  7. Cut the pork into 1-inch slices and serve it with tonkatsu sauce, rice and vegetables. Enjoy!

Tonkatsu sauce

For the tonkatsu sauce, you can either make it yourself or buy it pre-made from the grocery store. The Bulldog brand of tonkatsu seems to be highly reviewed. For the homemade tonkatsu sauce, I combined 1 tbsp of ketchup, 1 tbsp of oyster sauce and 1 tsp of sugar. Worcestershire sauce is usually used in combination, but since my pantry didn’t have that sauce, I just decided not to include it. Without the Worcestershire sauce, the ketchup flavor is more prominent. I didn’t mind it as I like ketchup with baked pork. However next time, I will try the Bulldog tonkatsu sauce or get the Worcestershire sauce form the local grocery.

 

Leave a Reply

