Fish Soup for the Mind

Fish has always been one of my favorite things to eat. Since I was very little, my mom has always told me that eating fish is especially good for the brain. I used to always ask my mom to cook me fish when I had an important exam to study for. And now, I try to recreate some of her recepies for my own delightment. This is a fish recipe that I found online from “Woks of Life” of which I shared with my mom. I modified the receipe a bit to my own liking. I hope you will enjoy this soup dish.

Ingredients:

  1. 1-2 tilapia fillet (thinly sliced) (for marinating the fish, please visit Easy Fish Tofu Soup. I have also tried making the soup without marinating the fish which also turned out great, especially if you like the natural taste of tilapia)
  2. 1-2 sliced ginger
  3. 1/2 pack nameko mushrooms
  4. dried chili flakes
  5. 4 cups chicken stock ( I use organice chicken stock)
  6. Cut cabbage
  7. 1/2 block firm tofu (sliced to 1/2-inch thickness)
  8. 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  9. Salt, to taste
  10. Chopped scallion

Combining Ingredients:

  1. Marinate the fish for 30 minutes.
  2. Heat up the wok with cooking oil over medium heat, and add ginger and mushrooms, and saute them until fragant.
  3. Add the chicken stock, cabbage, sliced tofu, and sesame oil. Cover the ingredients with water if necessary. Bring to a boil and add salt to taste.
  4. Once the cabbage and tofu has softened, lay each piece of fish into the boiling soup.
  5. Cook until the fish is ready. Now add in the scallion and chili flakes. Simmer for a little bit longer and now it’s ready to be served.

 

Leave a Reply

